// Peckos 'Truffles EP' Lost My Dog - LMD039 - 29th November 2010 //

peckos-truffles-ep-lmd‘Truffles EP’ brings up a hat-trick of releases for Peckos on Lost My Dog.  The three original tracks show how his sound has continued to develop since his debut ‘Belgian Nights EP’ in May 2009 with more mature deep house grooves and a knowledge of what works well on a dancefloor.  In typical Peckos style, there are still bucket-loads of funk and a cheeky edge to the tracks.  Remixes are provided by fellow Belgian’s Vernon & DaCosta, now regarded amongst the leading players in deep house and Frenchman Kirby, another young producer who’s star is rising at a rapid rate. peckosWith this EP, Peckos joins only a handful of producers who have released 3 times or more on Lost My Dog – Harold Heath, Yse, Dominic Martin and of course label boss Pete Dafeet.  His ‘Sensual Strawberry Soda’ release in the summer of 2009 was a big success, receiving heavy plays from the legendary Tony Humphries amongst others.  Gourmand, DigiFunk, Shak and Booth Trax have also released his music and he will soon appear on Vernon & DaCosta’s uber-cool Homecoming Music.

Kirby and the Lost My Dog were introduced to each other in a packed bar in Barcelona during the  Sonar festival while England and Algeria played out a dismal 0-0 World Cup draw.  The LMD crew were impressed at how well he held his tongue when it would have been far easier to laugh at the English, so we offered him a remix.  Kirby’s ultra-friendly and polite manner has also seen him land acclaimed releases for Tango, Kolour (who will shortly release his album) and Nordic Trax (NT label boss Luke McKeehan was also present at the aforementioned 0-0 bar). Vernon & Dacosta provide their fourth remix for Lost My Dog, three of which have been in 2010. The well established Belgian duo have appeared on labels including Om, Robsoul, Off, Aroma and Blockhead, while their own Homecoming Music has been turning heads since its launch in April and has set out its stall as one of the ‘must have’ labels in underground house music.

All of the above appears on Lost My Dog Records, regarded by iDJ, Mixmag, DJ Mag and DMC Update amongst others as one of the UKs leading deep house imprints and home to artists such as Giom, Yse, Rhythm Plate, Harold Heath, Dominic Martin and Pete Dafeet.

The Tracks 1:  Truffles 2:  Silver Sliming (Kirby Remix) 3:  Silver Sliming 4:  Why Should I Cry (Vernon & DaCosta Remix) 5:  Why Should I Cry